Channel 6 News - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Cuomo promises $16M in aid to flooded counties

ALBANY (AP) -- Gov. Andrew Cuomo says the state will provide $16 million to homeowners, business operators and farmers in some of the upstate counties slammed by recent severe flooding.
Cuomo says Herkimer County will get $4 million, Madison County will get $3 million, Oneida County will get $3 million, Niagara County will get $2 million and Montgomery County will get $4 million.
However, seven counties that were also declared disaster areas weren't included in Cuomo's announcement.
They are Allegany, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Franklin, Otsego and Warren. The Cuomo administration had no immediate comment on why New Yorkers from those counties have apparently been left out.
Meanwhile, Sen. Chuck Schumer is pushing the state to appeal a decision by the Federal Emergency Management Agency not to provide assistance. Schumer calls the decision wrongheaded.
Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!